Early History  
852 Moors establish village of Mayrít (latter Madrid)
932 Christian King Ramiro II temporarily occupies Mayrít
1109 Unsuccessful siege by Moors
1185 Mayrít captured by forces of Castille
1202 Madrid granted official status of Town
13th Century  
1212 Soldiers from Madrid assist in the battle of Las Navas de Tolosa
1217 Saint Francisco of Assis founds Monastery of San Francisco
1218 Saint Domingo de Guzmán founds Monastery of Santo Domingo el Real
1248 Fernando III confirms division between Segovia and Madrid
14th Century  
1309 Royal Cortes held in Madrid
1329 Royal Cortes held in Madrid
1339 Royal Cortes held in Madrid
1345 Alfonso XI appoints Administrative Council for Madrid area
1348 Creation of Madrid Army Regiment
1361 1st Purge of Jews
1391 2nd Purge of Jews
15th Century  
1433 Royal Cortes held in Madrid
1434 Town suffers nine weeks of storms and floods
1435 Royal Cortes to be held only in Madrid
1463 Weekly market established and also Fairs of San Miguel and San Mateo
1474 Supporters of Isabel besiege the city
1478 Initiation of Spanish Inquisition
1479 Pedro Zapata founds Monastery de Rejas
1492 3rd Purge of Jews and destruction of their Quarter
1498 Pigs are forbidden to roam freely in the streets
16th Century  
1503 Foundation of Convento de San Jerómino el Real
1518 Construction begun of Church of Beato Isidoro
1520 Rebellion by citizens of Madrid against Carlos I
1520 Madrid surrenders after Battle of Villalar
1523 Dominicans established in Virgen de Atocha
1525 Francis I of France imprisoned in Torre de los Lujanes
1528 Isabel authorized construction of Church of San Isidoro
1547 Founded Convento Agustino de San Felipe Nery y el de la Trinidad Descalza
1547 Writer Miquel de Cervantes Saavedra (1547-1616)
1561 Royal Court moved to Madrid and established as capital of Spain
1562 Felipe II acquired land to create Casa de Campo
1562 Writer Félix Lope de Vega (1562-1635)
1563 Work commences on El Escorial
1580 Writer Francisco de Quevedo y Villegas (1580-1645)
1590 Construction of Casas de la Panadería
1592 Construction of Convento de los Agustinos Recoletos
1599 Construction of first section of the Puerto de Alcalá
1599 Painter Diego de Velázquez (1599-1660)
17th Century  
1600 Royal Court moved to Valladolid
1600 Dramatist Pedro Calderón de la Barca (1600-1681)
1606 Construction of Convento de Santa Bárbara
1606 Royal Court moved back to Madrid
1616 Felipe III orders construction of Plaza Mayor
1618 Felipe III creates Parque del Retiro
1622 Construction of Convento de la Encarnación
1632 Real Sitio del Buen Retiro Palace completed
18th Century  
1700 Construction of Palacio de Goyaneche
1701 Bourbon Felipe V arrives in Madrid to take throne
1717 Palacio de Uceda renamed Palacio de Consejos
1719 Puente de Toledo rebuilt
1720 Construction of Cuartel del Conde-Duque
1722 Construction of Hospicio de San Fernando (now Municipal Museum)
1734 Royal Alcázar destroyed by fire
1738 Construction commenced of Royal Palace (1738-1764)
1746 Painter Francisco de Goya (1746-1828)
1750 Construction of Convento de las Salasas Reales
1761 Construction of Basilica of San Francisco el Grande
1763 Spanish National Lottery established
1764 Palace Real completed
1766 Construction of Casa de Correos
1767 Jesuits expelled from their monasteries and Spain
1769 Construction of Casa Real de la Aduana (now Ministry of Hacienda)
1769 Enlargement of Puerto de Alcalá
1775 Construction of Salón del Prado
1776 Reconstruction of Hospital General (now Museum of Reina Sofia)
1777 Construction of Palacio de Benavente (now Ministry of Defense)
1781 Creation of Royal Botanical Gardens
1785 Construction of Palacio del Prado (1785-1854 - now Prado Museum)
1787 1st Official Census - 156.672 inhabitants in Madrid
1790 Reconstruction of Plaza Mayor after fire
1798 Construction of San Antonio de la Florida
19th Century  
1808 French Army of Napoleon occupies Madrid and street riots follow
1812 English General Wellington frees city from French occupiers 
1817 Playwright José Zorrilla y Mora (1817-1893)
1818 Official opening of Prado Museum
1820 General Riego leads Liberal coup
1832 Public gas system installed in centre of City
1834 City roads paved and cleaning services established
1835 Church property seized by State
1840 General Espartero leads Radical coup
1843 General Narvaez leads Conservative coup
1843 Writer Benito Pérez Galdós (1843-1920)
1844 Railway Station of Aranjuez constructed
1850 Opening of Cortes building and Teatro Real
1851 Construction of Isabel II Canal for city water supply
1855 Construction commenced of railway line to Paris (1855-1864)
1857 Reconstruction of Plaza de la Puerto del Sol
1866 Construction of Biblioteca Nacional
1868 General Prim with a coup ends reign of Isabel II
1868 The Peseta is recognized as official currency of Spain
1868 Gardens of Parque del Retiro open to public
1873 1st Spanish Republic
1875 Alfonso XII restores monarchy
1876 New Spanish Contsitution
1881 Electric street lighting installed
1884 Construction of Banco de España (1884-1891)
1897 Prime Minister Cánovas del Castillo assassinated
1899 Poet and playwright Federico Garciá Lorca (1899-1936)
20th Century  
1900 Construction of railway system to the east and south of Spain (1900-1914)
1904 Approval of creation of Gran Via
1906 Hotel Ritz opens
1907 Car number plates registration introduced
1910 Demolition to create the Gran Via commenced
1916 Novelist Camilo José Cela (1916-
1921 Metro system opens
1923 Dictatorship of Primo de Rivera established
1929 Construction of Madrid University Campus
1931 2nd Spanish Republic
1931 Casa de Campo opened to the public
1934 Construction of viaduct over Calle Segovia
1936 Spanish Civil War commences
1939 General Franco occupies Madrid and ends Civil War
1939 Junta for reconstruction of Madrid established
1947 Creation of system of public transport within the city
1965 Student demonstrations close Madrid University
1966 Real Madrid wins its 6th European Cup
1973 Carrero Blanco assassinated
1975 General Franco dies and power passes to the King
1976 El Pais newspaper is published
1977 UCD Party wins democratic elections
1979 Democratic election of Municipal representatives
1979 Enrique Tierno Galván elected President of Municipality of Madrid (1979-1986)
981 Right-wing coup fails
1982 PSOE Party wins national elections
1992 Madrid selected as Capital of European Culture for that year
1993 Opening of Palace of Congresses of Campo de las Naciones
1995 Completion of last Metro line (Line 6)
1996 Conservative Party wins national elections
21st Century  
2000 Partido Popular win national elections
2000 Real Madrid makes soccer history by winning 8th European Cup
2011 Mass un-employed known as "Indignados" demonstrate
2012 More street demonstrations due to government financial measures